Afrikaans is a West Germanic-based creole language spoken in South Africa, Namibia and, to a lesser extent, Botswana, Zambia and Zimbabwe. It evolved from the Dutch vernacular of Holland (Hollandic dialect) spoken by the European (Dutch, French and German) settlers and their slaves in South Africa, where it gradually began to develop distinguishing characteristics in the course of the 18th century.